Wind, Wilshire Park

This is what happens with high winds following days and days of rain.

IMG_0587

The soil becomes saturated and the force of the wind hitting that large mass of trunk and limbs causes entire trees to topple.

IMG_0589

I’m sure this isn’t the only casualty around Portland due to yesterday’s high winds — reported gusts up to 67 mph at the airport!

IMG_0590

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Wind, Wilshire Park

  1. annamadeit says:

    It always makes me sad to see fallen trees… The roadways were littered with trees and large branches when I drove home yesterday – it was pretty scary. And today, at a measure this morning, an entire portion of a fence had blown down. And to think it was only 67 mph gusts. Glad we’re not in the Philippines.

  2. Loree says:

    I saw that tree too, such a small amount of roots that came up with it! There are branches all around my neighborhood but no fallen trees that I noticed. I did see bits of sawdust in the roads I traveled on Friday, people were quick to clean up.

  3. Our neighbor lost a parking strip tree that was at least 50 years old. 😦 Thankfully, all houses were spared.

Leave a comment