Foliage Follow-up October 2013 – Sourwood’s autumn brilliance

Remember this little tree on NE 33rd at Wygant from July Bloom Day?

IMG_5333

As if sourwood, Oxydendrum arboreum, in summer isn’t enough to impress, take a look at it now.

oxydendrum5

I’ve been keeping an eye out, and have found a couple more of these.  Here’s a larger one at McMenamin’s Kennedy School south parking lot entrance.  Interesting that its fruits are pink, different from the creamy yellow ones above.

oxydendrum4

Here’s a huge one at NE Holman and NE 35th Place.

oxydendrum1

oxydendrum2

At first, the red leaves were all I noticed but then I realized the interior yellow leaves were contributing to the glow.

oxydendrum3

Take a look at lots of fabulous fall foliage by visiting Pam, our Foliage Follow-up host, at Digging.

This entry was posted in Landscape tree, Street trees and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Foliage Follow-up October 2013 – Sourwood’s autumn brilliance

  1. Julie Fukuda says:

    I am not familiar with that tree but it certainly is impressive. It doesn’t seem to be dropping leaves or flowers underneath … or is that a good cleaning job? Not much in tha way of fall color in Tokyo but the Cornus Florida has begun to take on fall tints. I think everything is waiting just to see if those hot summer days are really over.

  2. Good eye! I love the one on 33rd, how have I never noticed the one at Kennedy School? Must be more tree observant!

  3. Pam/Digging says:

    Oh my, sourwood is a sweet sight in autumn!

  4. Ricki Grady says:

    Thanks for the sourwood sightings. Ours is recovering from gopher damage, so I will have to borrow these to get my oxydendron hit for this year.

  5. Kim M. says:

    Oh WOW. I definitely need one of those–I love those deep red autumn leaves!

Leave a comment