Eye of the beholder

Naomi_favorite

As a parent, I love the surprises that come with learning from my children and glimpsing life and the world through their eyes.

When I made my first “Welcome” blog post back in March, I mentioned this neighborhood street tree that my daughter stopped to admire.

styrax1

It’s not a tree that would capture my attention, but now I notice it every time we walk or drive by.  My daughter still exclaims, “There’s the tree I love!”  I’m so curious.  What is it about the tree that attracts her?  Maybe the fact that it stands alone gives it distinction.  My sister suggested it could be the child-sized scale.

styrax3

When I asked Naomi the other day, she said, “I love the yellow leaves.”  But they weren’t yellow in the summer, and she loved it then too.

styrax2

Every child ought to have a favorite tree, and does it matter if we don’t understand the reasons for their favor?  Ask a child you know about a tree that’s special to them.  Are you surprised by the answer?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Eye of the beholder

  1. darwinsbulldog says:

    Darling!

  2. Julie Fukuda says:

    love this post. The tree seems to be reaching out to Naomi. Today I taught the nature section of IOLT (Introduction to Outdoor Leader Training) I really want to help leaders who know nothing about nature in a strange country find ways to turn kids on … because we protect what we love, but we have to get to know it before we begin to love it. And in an age of ear-buds and texting,, kids are missing more and more in their daily life.

  3. Ricki Grady says:

    Fun idea! Now all I have to do is find me a kid.

Leave a Reply

