Craigslist find

I’ve been shopping on Craigslist for patio furniture.  I’m giving up on improving the condition of the inside of my home, and have decided that while the weather is good I’m just going to spend as much time as possible living outside.

I now have a wrought iron mesh table and 6 matching chairs for the back deck. I was happy to find some chairs for the front porch for a good price and in new condition, and a short drive downtown.

craigslist_chairs

When I arrived at the address on SW Vista Ave, I found a parking spot in front of this place, across the street from the address with the chairs.

IMG_5545

Of course the first thing I noticed was this.

IMG_5550

And then I looked up, wow.

IMG_5536

I thought I would find a Heritage Tree plaque.  I found one, but not with the designation I expected.

IMG_5529

Nice to get something so beautiful and unexpected through Craigslist.  I’d like to learn more about this pair of trees.  Check ’em out for yourself at 860 SW Vista Blvd, just up the hill from NW 23rd and Burnside.

IMG_5548

It’s a real treat to see coast redwood, Sequoia sempervirens, in Portland.  The native range for this species extends only to the southern end of the state, and only 50 miles inland. The most well-know locale for ancient redwoods is Redwoods National Park, but they can also be seen in the Chetco River area in southern Oregon near Brookings.  This Statesman Journal article describes two options for hiking and viewing the redwoods in that area.

I’m in Southern Oregon this week for a Little League State Championship. I’ll let you know if I get a chance to visit some redwoods while I’m down here.

This entry was posted in Street trees and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Craigslist find

  1. holly says:

    I love this! You had me on the edge of my seat!

  2. Julie Fukuda says:

    Looks like you got a bonus with your furniture.

  3. Ricki Grady says:

    Huge Coast Redwoods without the long drive! Thanks for the tip.

  4. Hello,
    Happened upon your blog. Great pictures and am going to try and track the Sequoia sempervirens down just to visit them. We actually collect and propagate unique cultivars of Sequoia sempervirens and also do grafting of Sequoiadendron giganteum cultivars. I am going to check out the tree mentioned in the other blog and believe that to be a Sequoia sempervirens ‘ Cantab ‘ also. You really have a nice site and the pictures are excellent. Thanks Michael
    Crowfoot Nursery
    Sandy,OR

Leave a Reply

