In the ballpark

Oops.

I first posted about this tree here, in early April.  I didn’t know the species, but made a guess.  It turns out I’m wrong.  That’s OK.  But it’s embarrassing that in my post I talked about bypassing the use of a dichotomous key in favor of using google images to identify trees.  It doesn’t always work, obviously.

I noticed this tree at our local Little League field, and at the time it was leafing out in green foliage with white inflorescences in racemes, looking like this:

IMG_3120     IMG_3094

When I noticed this tree and posted that I thought it was Prunus padus, I saw a few that appeared to be the same around NW 21st and Flanders on my daily route.  After a while, I observed the foliage turning purple on those trees, and so I wasn’t surprised to come back and find this, the same tree 2 months later.

IMG_4674

So, did I make any collections and get out my botanical resources to key it out? No, I did not.  But with the added clue of foliage that emerges green then changes to purple I’m getting within the ballpark, a cultivar of Prunus virginana, which is a type of chokecherry.

It’s interesting, the green new growth popping out from the purple mass of older foliage.

IMG_4668

Not many fruits to be seen, but here’s a few green ones I could find.  They’ll get darker as they ripen.

IMG_4669

One of the goals I had for this blog was to get me to pay closer attention to trees I see on a regular basis and to notice more, which is already happening. Learning through making mistakes — I’m good at it!

This entry was posted in Landscape tree and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In the ballpark

  1. If you never make mistakes, you’re not trying hard enough, right? I’m always drawn to purple foliage, and that prunus is a pretty little thing.

Leave a Reply

