Aliens

There’s a wonderful school yard at Meek School, NE 40th and Alberta, where I often go, joining other dog owners to take advantage of a wide fenced in field for dogs who need to run.

IMG_3177

While I’m there I’m focused on playing with the dog, while also trying to keep an eye out for the safety of any kids who are with me.  So I hadn’t really closely examined the trees planted here, but I did take note that the selection was odd — not your regular every day school yard trees.  Recently I learned through the Friends of Trees blog about this Concordia Tree Team project. Yesterday I took a closer look.

Oaks that retain their leaves, and conifers that drop their needles.  OK, maybe not that unusual, but opposite of what one might first think.

IMG_3180    IMG_3186

I couldn’t resist examining them up close:

IMG_3254    IMG_3229

Other than the ginkgos and umbrella pines, I don’t recognize any of these.  When they’re more fully leafed out I can work on getting to know who’s who.  But from the online project write-up, I know that the list includes:  oaks (including canyon live oak), three different types of hackberry trees, umbrella pines, and deciduous conifers dawn redwood and a bald cypress. Today I just appreciated the beauty of both familiar features and the unusual character of these emerging leaves.

IMG_3240   IMG_3187

IMG_3220   IMG_3199

IMG_3245   IMG_3190   IMG_3209   IMG_3171

IMG_3258   IMG_3252

Note the contrasting undersides of the leaves below:

IMG_3204   IMG_3205

The form of some trees was interesting too:

IMG_3198   IMG_3185

IMG_3172

I love the bright color of this foliage.

IMG_3195

I hope to post more useful and detailed information on this special place in the future.

This entry was posted in Landscape tree and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

