Heritage Tree dog walk

Continuing with the Arbor Month Heritage Tree focus…

Today I visited 3 Heritage Trees within a short walk of my home.  Since the dog couldn’t take my photo, I posed her in front of the first one.

IMG_3123

This tree is just a few blocks from my house, but I never knew of its designation.  This is Heritage Tree #249 on NE Going Street. Horsechestnuts, Aesculus hippocastanum, are not my favorite tree maybe because they are so common, but even more so because they are often squeezed into streetside planting strips that are too narrow.  I don’t like seeing trees having to make do with less than they deserve, nor the resulting wonky sidewalks.  But this tree was looking so lovely this morning with the light filtering through it’s branches. A really handsome specimen, I’m going to work on appreciating this one a lot more.

IMG_3125    IMG_3124

After the first one I gave up on posing the dog, but here is Heritage Tree #262 on NE 10th Avenue, a tulip treeLiriodendron tulipifera. This one’s 100 feet tall, according to the Heritage Tree map tag.

IMG_3129   IMG_3130

The one I photographed a couple weeks ago didn’t have any leaves yet, but this one is well on its way:

IMG_3133

I’ve driven past Heritage Tree #297 thousands of times on NE 8th and Prescott without taking note.  Now I’ll pay more attention.  I’m unfamiliar with Spanish chestnut, Castanea sativa. Reynolds and Dimon in Trees of Greater Portland mention that Spanish chestnuts can grow over 100 feet and live a 1,000 years. Also in the book I learned unlike the horsechestnut, this one is less likely to cause injury to pedestrians via dropping nuts. Cross-pollination is required making a solitary trees unproductive.

IMG_3137

IMG_3135

The Heritage Tree map shows that most in NE Portland are concentrated south of Fremont Avenue, a cluster at the base of Alameda ridge, and only a few outliers beyond. Kinda makes me want to go hunting around to find some candidate trees.

This entry was posted in Heritage trees and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Heritage Tree dog walk

  1. Julie Fukuda says:

    Both the “tulip” and the “buckeye” were common sidewalk trees in my childhood neighborhood in Ohio. Since our walks were made of “flagstone” they were always pushed up by the roots. .

  2. Paige says:

    First, thanks for including my blog on your “blogs I follow.” Your post on heritage trees sent me in search of the heritage trees for Seattle, which I found, it’ll be fun to go check some of them out. I like some of the directions for how to find them, first the address then things like, “front yard straddling property line – very “squat” tree.” I’m looking forward to seeing a “squat” Sequoiadendron giganteum!

  3. Laurel Hoyt says:

    Tree #3 is in fact productive! I’ve eaten those nuts. Never been beaned by one, though, nor by the horsechestnut.

  4. Pingback: Bloom Day May 2013 – King Neighborhood, NE Portland | Portland Tree Tour

Leave a Reply

