Magnolia mystery: solved

I happened to be making a trip to Cistus Nursery today to purchase a loquat, Eriobotrya japonica, whose photo I fell in love with instantly last week when my mom blogged about the one in her garden in Japan.  It’s always a pleasure to be introduced to new and unusual plants while browsing at Cistus, but my happiest moment today was when I lucked into finding an answer to my question about the magnolia street trees I featured last week for the March Bloom Day.

IMG_2597  IMG_2600

IMG_2598

Even though the specimens were tiny I recognized the beautiful blue-toned leaves with their smooth texture, but lacking the waxy sheen of M. grandiflora, and the tags identified the plant for me:  Magnolia maudiae.  I successfully resisted a very strong urge to purchase one.  One of the “most floriferous?”  “Fast growing,” yet narrow habit of “8 to 10 feet” wide?  Perfect for the urban garden — I’ll take it, but I have to wait until I can find a larger one that would survive possible attack by basketball or soccer ball in my yard. Which reminds me, I better go find a tomato cage to protect my new loquat.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Magnolia mystery: solved

  1. Julie Fukuda says:

    It is interesting that Japan has so many imports from China when it comes to plants but that one is not popular enough to appear in my handbooks. The Magnolias here have suddenly burst into bloom and are putting on a grand show. I hope the larger flowers survive the gusty weather.

  2. Congrats on both finding the loquat and solving the magnolia mystery, Cistus to the rescue!

    • julieafukuda says:

      Thanks, Loree! I hope my loquat stays healthy and vigorous — I feel encouraged when I see your photos of various specimens! Thanks also for including portland tree tour in your danger garden blogroll.

Leave a Reply

